RBT: Why I Love Thursday Nights

It’s been a big day. I feel like unwinding. So what will I do? Read a book maybe? Perhaps have a glass of wine? A cheeky bubble bath? No. None of these things will calm me down.

So, how do I unwind? By watching RBT.

RBT is a television show currently airing on Channel Nine narrated by Cameron Daddo. If you’ve never seen or heard of the show, the whole premise is Random Breath Testing. The police pull somebody over, then let the driver make a fool of themselves before making them complete a breath test. Arguably the greatest part of the show is where they build the suspense before revealing whether the driver is over or under the limit.

If you don’t think this is the greatest television show ever created, you’re wrong. It has to be one of the purest sources of comedy I’ve ever encountered. Either that or I’m an insensitive asshole. Hmmm…

I’m not sure whether it’s the lack of teeth, the colourful language or obscene amount of moccasins on screen, but the show will always have a place in my heart. And I know that the episodes are all re-runs and that the show hasn’t been remade in years, but I see that as a good thing.

It’s like watching a movie you haven’t seen since you were a child. You revisit the world you remember when you were younger. The memories flood back, and you get carried away to a warm, sentimental world.

Except instead of a children’s movie, it’s a low-budget police reality series filmed in central NSW narrated by a semi-professional Australian actor of the 90s. I mean it’s Cameron Daddo! What is this? Getaway from 2002!?

I sit here, utterly exhausted. I have my laptop in front of my, and my hand on a glass of Baileys. I have my feet up on the newly acquired ottoman I found on the street during hard rubbish, and I’m watching RBT.

I guess life isn’t all that bad.

Oh side note: Can we talk about Getaway for a moment? Whatever happened to that show? I think Getaway needs a whole blog post on its own.

Wait, was Cameron Daddo on Getaway or The Great Outdoors starring indigenous everyman Ernie Dingo?

God, I love tacky television. Ok, shhh. It’s back on.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

