The Magic of Two Breakfasts

Today was a glorious day. I woke up, stumbled out of bed and made myself a cup of tea. I sat and glanced over a summary of the news headlines on my phone before deciding to put some bread in the toaster. I found an appropriately named Spotify playlist called “Brekkie Time” which I decided to listen to as I applied Strawberry Conserve to my toast.

Yes, there is a difference, peasant.

After breakfast had come to its natural end for the day, I promptly got ready and made my way to university. I put a podcast on and made the hours commute via bus and tram out to Bundoora. I was listening to a TED Talk. Well, I say listening, when in actuality I was watching the movie the passenger in front of me was looking at on their phone.

I love Die Hard.

After leaving the tram I slowly trundled down towards the campus, not feeling overly inspired by the day ahead of me. And then as I reached the centre of campus it happened. Something unexpected. Something wonderful. In the distance I could see a stall set up, giving away something for free. Naturally, I walked towards the table.

They were giving away breakfast. Free breakfast. A free second breakfast.

I stood in disbelief at the array of breakfast foods stood before me. That disbelief was suddenly demolished by the greed that came over me. I picked up a packet of what appeared to be Kellogs Crunchy Nut and poured myself a bowl. I topped it off with some milk and walked away, ecstatic at the fact that I was eating second breakfast.

I think in that moment I understood how Jesus felt when he saved all those people from hunger by turning stones into a whole box of Special K.

I guess the only downside to the whole experience is that I decided to eat and walk at the same time. I’ve not really eaten cereal on the move before, and it was a challenge, but eventually, I got the hang of it.

From that moment on my day was brilliant. I worked harder than usual, thanks to the extra fuel I had consumed this morning. Why isn’t second breakfast always a thing? I think I might need to start implementing this as a permanent fixture in my life. Maybe I can carry an emergency box of cereal with me at all times? Oh, but how do I keep the milk cold?

There’s an idea here, I just don’t know the finer details. Yet.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to watch some Japanese Wrestling. Because I’m a man,

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

